Skip to content ↓

Thirsk School

& Sixth Form College

    Yorkshire Cricket star is guest of honour at presentation evening

     Our former student, and Yorkshire County Cricket Club’s Player of the Year 2017, Ben Coad, was guest of honour at our Upper School Presentation Evening on 22nd November. 

    The prize-giving ceremony, where top-performing students in all subject areas are recognised, featured a motivational speech from Ben Coad, the Yorkshire seam bowler who was recently named Yorkshire Members’ Player, Players’ Player and Young Player of the Year. As well as being a role model for all aspiring sports players, Ben had a particular affinity with this audience, in that he had once been sitting where they were; Ben himself attended Thirsk School until he left in 2012.

    Each year the school gives out special awards to recognize outstanding contribution to school life, and to students who have displayed particular courage. This year's recipients of the Tom Hutton Languages Cup were Sam Acheson and Lewis Bendelow. The Rotary Endeavour Shield, for students who have displayed particular courage, was presented to Jess Allen and Ryan Tempest, and the Rory Potter Cup for services to the school community was won by Sebastian Fatz and Wilf Tomlinson.

    The Graham Cressey Award for outstanding achievement was shared this year between two young men, Ethan Cook and Alfie Dickson.  

    Graham Cressey, former chair of governors, presented the award to Ethan and Alfie in person, introduced by Mr Mason who described the two students as: ‘close friends and great contributors to our school. Both achieved outstanding GCSE results in the summer. They are bright but were quick to recognise that there is no such thing as natural talent; it only comes with hard work, practice and ambition to do well.  Both have thrown themselves into so much that the school has to offer, whether it be dramatic, musical, sporting or through the Duke of Edinburgh Award Scheme.  Both have joined our Sixth Form and have already chosen to put more back into their school by applying to be prefects.  Both have a quiet humility and strength of character to be their own people, whist remaining popular and respected by their peers. '

    Art Euan Mann
    Business Studies Will Rutter
    Catering Georgia Yeadon
    Computer Science Patryk Wasniewski
    Dance Abigail Taylor
    Drama Jess Coates
    Extra Curricular Drama Olivia Job
    Extra Curricular Drama Alex Gardiner
    Duke of Edinburgh Georgia Barnett-Sadler
    Duke of Edinburgh Erin Scott
    Duke of Edinburgh Abigail Collins
    Duke of Edinburgh Zoe Thornton
    Duke of Edinburgh Rachel Morris
    Engineering Nathan Almond
    English Language Alex Gardiner
    English Literature Beatrice Lablaine
    Modern Languages - French Patrick Mellor
    Modern Languages - German James Cook
    Geography Erin Scott
    Health and Social Care Jada Millward
    History Alfie Dickson
    Information Technology Reece Thirling
    Mathematics Patrick Mellor
    Music - GCSE Tom Ward
    Music -BTec Millie Boyes
    Extra Curricular Music Luke Coupland
    Extra Curricular Music Alfie Dickson
    Extra Curricular Music Ethan Cook
    Physical Education Carla Dyson
    Extra Curricular Physical Education Will Gascoigne
    Extra Curricular Physical Education Thomas Scott
    PSHCE Harriet Flouri
    Additional Science Josh Fothergill
    Science - Biology Jakub Michajlow
    Science - Chemistry Patryk Wasniewski
    Science - Physics Marianne Morrice
    Core Science Pearl Brewster
    Social and Religious Studies Alice Pickering
    Work Experience Leila Hindmarch
    Tom Hutton Cup
    for Modern Foreign Languages
    Sam Acheson
    Tom Hutton Cup
    for Modern Foreign Languages
    Lewis Bendelow
    Rory Potter Cup
    for Services to the School Community
    Sebastian Fatz
    Rory Potter Cup
    for Services to the School Community
    Wilf Tomlinson
    The Special Endeavour Award (Rotary) Jess Allen
    The Special Endeavour Award (Rotary) Ryan Tempest
    The Graham Cressey Award Alfie Dickson
    The Graham Cressey Award Ethan Cook