Skip to content ↓

Thirsk School

& Sixth Form College

    Sixth Form Council

    The powerful student voice in our college is led by the prestigious Head Boy and Head Girl positions. These sought after roles are elected by a combination of student vote, Head Teacher interview and application letter. These two students lead a council of elected ministers who hold positions linked to key areas of the college:  there are ministers linked to education, resources, key events, social and careers and - liaising with both the students and staff - they aim to continually improve what we do in the Sixth Form. Examples of the notable results and activities of the council are: the re- design of our newly built common room; earning the right for independent printing; and the running all of the key Sixth Form events during the year.

    Weekly meetings allow the team to discuss current issues and then respond to them; this fluent and rapid reaction allows large sections of the college to be run successfully by this team. Essentially, all resources in the common room are maintained by the council and they use their allocated budget to support decisions in this area.

    As their role develops, the council will have leadership responsibility across the whole school with both the ministers and Head Boy and Girl being involved with whole school events throughout the 11-18 age range. This rightly puts them at the forefront of our School, developing their own leadership experience and personal qualities whilst also impacting positively on the aspirations of their younger peers.

    Sixth Form Council 2017-18


    Our Sixth Form Council for 2017-18has been elected:

    Congratulations to our newly elected Sixth Form Council:
    Head Girl - Wiktoria Fatz
    Head Boy - Louis Benoit

    Minister for Prefects - Eve Lynas
    Minister for Mentors - Millie Cuthbert
    Minister for Community - Aidan Tulloch
    Minister for Education - Lauren McLoughlin
    Minister for Extra-Curricular - Harry Collinson
    Minister for Entertainment - Nina Costello
    Minister for Finance - Jack Cross